Snowpiercer – Movie Review

Wednesday, October 15th, 2014

movie reviewHere we have a movie that first got my attention through some internet buzz it received throughout the year. A movie that didn’t get a wide release and only made it into selected theaters. It turned into a sort of ‘insider tip’ and I placed it on my radar. Now that radar made ‘blip’ and I had a chance to see it. I even watched it twice. It’s a very solid production that certainly would have made its budget back in no time. It even did (world wide) with just its limited release. Studio interference held it back. Which is a shame.

The movie is about a train that carries the last small portion of humanity that’s left on Earth. Due to an experimental try to reverse global warming, Earth turned into a refridgerator. In said train it’s a strict hirarchy that separates poor from rich people. After 17 years and lots of attempts to overthrow the rules it’s time for another uprising. The poor people, living in the back of the train, forged a plan to break through to the next part of the train. Of course the more privileged population of the train wants to keep the less privileged in check. With passion and some luck the orgainzed attack is a success, they make a first step and break through the first line of defence. But it’s a long way to the front. We follow a small group and learn a lot of things about what the train is about and how it all works. Which is a good thing, as we learn this new stuff step by step along with the characters we follow. Every now and then a new secret is revealed and moves the story smoothly from beginning to end.

I think it is a movie with some high ambitions. It wants to make a point about the current state of humanity or civilization. How a civilization works. What a civilization has to do, to be successful. There are sacrifices to make. And do these sacrifices define humanity? And ultimately… (and maybe I’m reading too much into it) are we worth it to be saved? All these ambitious questions crammed into a scifi action movie. Does it manage to get it right? Well, I would say ‘almost’. For movies this ambitious there are higher standards than for just an action movie. There are a couple of things in the movie that fall apart if you think too much about. The movie does explain a lot of things and tries to justify why things are how they are. And depending on how much you’re willing to think about it, these explanations work or don’t. I think the term “Suspense of Disbelief” is appropriate here. If you’re able to suspend your disbelief then this movie will be a fun ride, along with some challenging topics. Topics that couldn’t be more current if you’re willing the check the news and how our civilization is also more and more separated between poor and rich.

Beside these serious topics it’s also an entertaining movie that gets a lot of things right. A lot of nice fight sequences with good action. Very creative play with the idea that we’re on a train. Given the fact that there was only very limited space to organize the shots, the camera work is nicely done. There definitely is some good filmmaking on the screen. Also on the screen are some nice VFX shots of a frozen outside world. Mountains, landscapes and cities that once were full of life now lie dead in a white sheet of snow. The execution of the VFX shots is ok and completely sufficient to the needs of the movie. So from a technical point of view it’s a pretty well done film.

There are also a lot of big names in this movie. Ed Harris, John Hurt, Tilda Swinton and Chris Evans. I like all of them and I have to say that everybody did a very fine job in this movie. Chris Evans, who’s the main protagonist, has a chance to show that he got some range as an actor. He did that in earlier films like “Sunshine” (which I love) but I feel that since then he did not have a real chance to do more emotionally enganging parts. I want to see more of that Chris Evans. The other names aren’t just there for one scene either. No ‘stunt casting’ so to say. All of them play important characters and are significant to the plot of the movie. It’s a strange and great combination of actors that does indeed work well.

So all in all it’s a movie I would recommend to everyone. Yes, there are details in this movie that don’t make 100% sense but why should it? It brings up valid topics that are worth some discussion. And if it manages to invoke these discussions amongst people that normally don’t talk about topics like in the movie… job successful. GO see it if you have a chance!

7.8/10

Snowpiercer on IMDb

Guardians Of The Galaxy – Movie Review

Monday, September 8th, 2014

movie reviewAs usual with Marvel movies I have to start this one with saying that I’m not too familiar with the comics and have no specific idea how much of the comics went into this movie. That said… this movie pretty much rocks. Quite literally. I was following the development of this movie from early on. Once first details came out I really liked what they were going for. I hoped for some really creative stuff that hopefully does not involve Earth and shows us some places we haven’t seen yet. I wanted this movie to give the whole Marvel universe a new twist and perspective. Since it (yes it does) takes place in the same universe as The Avengers. Who knows if there will ever be a specific crossover but just the idea is pretty cool. It’s like a completely different world within the Marvel universe.

I don’t want to go into specific plot details since you should really go and see this film. Let’s just say that we mostly follow Peter Quill (Chris Pratt) from Earth, who got abducted as a young kid and grew up to be some sort of scavenger/bounty hunter in space. He’s looking for the ‘Orb’. An artifact a lot of people are looking for apparently. Once he found it, he’s not exactly making friends and ends up with a bounty on his head. A Racoon (Voice: Bradley Cooper) and his Tree-creature like friend (Voice: Vin Diesel) capture Quill, but not without bumping into Gamora (Zoe Saldana), who is trying to get the artifact. They all end up in a space prison where they meet Drax. All of them come together and manage to escape with the help of some great teamwork. When they find out how much the Orb is worth they decide to split the cash. Of course things do not work out as expected and once they discover the power the Orb holds, everything goes against them.

When it comes to the story you could almost say “have you seen one Marvel movie, you have seen them all”. It’s a weak spot in this otherwise great picture. Another thing that’s business as usual is the fact that the villain was pretty weak again. He’s not fleshed out enough to really care about his motivations. He’s just there to be the bad guy. And one scene in space that, for my taste, did go a little too far into “who cares about science” territory. After a kinda hoaky flashback at the start of the movie it soon finds its path and starts to get intertaining. Along with so many other big action summer blocbuster productions this movie is also falling into the trap of lining up one action sequence after another. Over the span of this movie there were enough things to counter these negative impressions though. Especially the way the film establishes its characters. It’s all done bit by bit throughout the movie and no single big exposition dump where everything is explained at once. So the characters stay fresh throughout the film and at the end still have some secrets left for a, highly possible, sequel. As successful as the movie is now, it’s a great statement for visual and character originality. Marvel risked something with this movie. They took fairly unknown comic characters and picked James Gunn, a director that doesn’t have much experience with science fiction fantasy. But what he’s great with is interaction between characters and especially the humor that can be found within these characters. Much like Joss Whedon who did a fairly good job with the Avengers movie.

Now to some technical things. The direction by James Gunn works really well and shows in the more quiet moments when we have some witty character interaction and conversations. Especially the funny stuff! The overall acting is pretty much flawless and enjoyable. The interaction between CG and live action characters is pretty amazing. The motion capture, 3d, design and voice work is fantastic and does a good job bringing us closer to the CG characters. What I’m talking about? Rocket and Groot of course. These two have a great relationship going on and couldn’t be more different on the outside. Together they are almost unstoppable. Aside from the characters this movie lives from the places it shows. We get to see some fantastic environments and planets. Probably some of the most creative stuff to see in a film right now. It’s obvious that the concept artists had fun with this movie and it definitely shows in the result. We also have one of the most beautiful colour palettes going on there. Every place has a different feel, lighting and colour mood. Everything well balanced and thought through from an artistic standpoint. Just gorgeous to look at and a lot of fun.

8.2/10

Guardians Of The Galaxy on IMDb

Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes – Movie Review

Monday, August 25th, 2014

movie reviewI bought the first part of this movie on Bluray. The reason why? Well, it came with the 1968 Charlton Heston original. Fantastic! But no, I didn’t hate the first one. I actually liked it for what it wanted to be. Solid characters, some impressive VFX work and a small hint on what’s in store for the sequel.

Now that certain hint is maybe something you don’t remember too vividly since the first movie glanced over it a bit. Don’t worry though, it’s explained in the opening sequence of this second part. Some nice animation graphics and compositing work there. After that short introduction we find ourselfes a couple of decades in the future. Due to a virus, originating from the laboratory that kind of gave Caesar his intellect, mankind went almost extinct and struggles to get back on its feet.

It’s a post-apocalypse setting placed in and around San Francisco. While the humans stood in the city and built a kind of colony, the apes found a place in the Redwoods and built a nice home there as well. In order to maintain electricity for the small human colony they send out a small team to secure a dam that’s located somewhere near the woods. Man and Ape co-existed rather peacefully up until that point and barely took notice from each other. Now our team, on the search for the dam, has to cross Ape territory. That’s potential for conflict. The fact that one of the humans shoots one of the apes doesn’t help the cause.

Caesar spares the humans and allows them to explain themselfes. Both come to an agreement and the humans get safe passage to the dam. Of course there is this one human character that manages it to destroy all trust between the team and the apes. From here on out it’s a little back and forth between our small team (a father (Jason Clarke), his girlfriend (Keri Russell), his son (Kodi Smit-McPhee) and three helpers) and Caesar. This is the part where the movie dragged a little for me. The end of the first act basically. Even though there are some good moments in there. Especially when it pulls on your heart strings a bit.

Caesar doesn’t have the best position since he’s getting some criticism about how he’s handling the situation with the humans. Some of them argue that he’s too soft with them and would do better to send them away or kill them. Especially Koba, one of Caesars closest friends and ally. Koba is with Caesar since the beginning and was one of the apes that had a really rough time in the laboratory. So his motivation is unterstandable. He’s only seen the worst of humanity. Caesar on the other hand knows both sides of humanity. And that’s why he’s helping the team to even repair the dam.

From that point on the movie shifts gear and things start to move a little faster, without losing the emotion that it built up to this point. Koba decides that he’s not happy with the situation and discoveres that the human colony is preparing weapons. What he doesn’t know is that these weapons were not prepared for an attack. They were thought for defence. Koba starts to manipulate the apes around him and sabotages Caesar and his try to build a bridge between the humans and apes. Koba manages to get the upper hand and soon enough the ape society turned into a dictatorship of sorts. Koba leads them straight to war and attacks the human colony in San Francisco.

Like I said, I had some problems in the first act. The movie establishes a lot of things, goings ons and I didn’t know where it was going. I also didn’t know who to root for. This changed later in the movie. But to get there took a while. It’s certainly very fascinating how the movie portraits the ape society and how things are done there. They communicate via sign-language (with subtitles) and sometimes even speak. I found it very interesting that they chose to go for subtitles. It’s a point that potentially would have made the movie rather goofy. Speaking apes… you know? But they found the right solution and balance. They do speak in certain situations but it’s very animalistic and sometimes even hard to understand. The ape characters are done so extremely well that it was pretty much impossible to tell them apart from the real live footage. The CG work was exceptional. Some matte paintings looked a little rushed but that’s a nitpick. The facial expressions and the way the apes moved looked great and Andy Serkis, who made himself a name for playing CG characters like Gollum, King Kong surely did a fantastic job as Caesar here. There was a little controversy about him saying that the CG work to create the characters is far less important than his performance in the motion capturing process. I have to disagree with him wholeheartedly. While I absolutely give him credit for some outstanding work and acting, it’s maybe a 60/40 between the work of the CG department and his motion capturing. 60% of the success of his characters definitely belongs to the people who created the creatures he’s playing. Especially when looking at how insanely detailed Caesar looks in this movie. The fur, textures, lighting and so many other things (that even I have no idea of and I do kind of work in that CG field) that have to come together to make Serkis’s performance to work in the first place. Nonetheless I would applaud if Serkis would at least get an Oscar nomination. Also the fact that it were not the “stupid humans” that started the war was very welcome. Yes they started the aggression but tried to make it all good and helped the apes with some issues they had. The apes turned it into a war. I liked that. The humans and apes represented a nice mirror of how things normally work out in our world. No matter how intelligent a species may be.

This movies doesn’t need to be over 2 hourse long. There was room for trimming, especially in the first act. The main protagonists are clearly the apes. The humans felt a little flat. I also wished that Gary Oldman (playing the leader of the human colony) had more space. His character has to face some difficult decisions and there was potential for some drama. The ending part with Gary Oldman felt a little forced though. Almost out of character. I did not expect him to go that route. He seemed more intelligent than that. But anyway… the movie is worth a watch for sure.

A 7.5 for this one.

Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes on IMDb

Jodorowsky’s Dune – Movie Review

Sunday, August 3rd, 2014

movie reviewIt’s safe to say that this was probably the most influential movie that was never made. If you are a film fan and remotely interested in filmmaking history then this documentary by Frank Pavich will be right on your alley. It’s about Alejandro Jodorowsky (also called Jodo and now in his 80s) and his attempt to film his version of Frank Herbert’s “Dune” in 1975. I admit I have never seen his movies (like El Topo or The Holy Mountain) or any other of his art projects. From what I knew he is known for his very unique style and abstract imagery in film.

This documentary knows very well that there are more Scifi and Dune fans out there than hardcore movie fans that know the name Jodorowsky. So the trip starts with an introduction to who Jodorowsky is and what he’s mostly known for. It explains his unique approach to art and movie making very well and introduces the viewer to the character that is Jodorowsky. I would say he’s ‘the living passion’. As soon as we see him and hear him, we learn that this man is full of emotion, drive and… passion. Especially of course when it’s about his work.

He says he never read Frank Herbert’s classic and all he knows about it was told to him by friends who loved the book. Immediately a vision began to take shape in Jodorowsky’s head. His friend Michel Seydoux, who previously worked as Producer on projects with Jodorowsky, gave Jodo free hand on what to do next. Jodorowsky just said “Dune!” and Seydoux said “Sure, why not!” and both embarked on the journey to realize the vision.

When you hear Jodorowsky talk about how they started pre-production with writing the screenplay, doing concept art and creating a shot for shot storyboard, you don’t have a choice than just to think that this movie was meant to be. Especially when Jodo is talking about how he met all the people who were involved in the pre-production process or planned to get involved with filming this monster project. It really all sounds like destiny wanted this movie to happen. There are storys about Mick Jagger, Pink Floyd and even Salvador Dali! It’s crazy hearing all this but in context of Jodo’s vision it all makes sense for some strange reason.

Jodo managed to bring together a group of people that were able to artistically bring their absolute best for the project. People like Jean ‘Moebius’ Giraud, Chris Foss and H.R. Giger managed to change the look of how Scifi had to be shown in movies. Their talent defines Scifi even today. And it all started with Jodorowsky trying to realize his vision of Frank Herbert’s Dune. At the time in the early to mid 70s they shared a very special common idea. They wanted to show something completely new. They wanted to break barriers when it came to design, feel and the technical execution of visual effects. All that, of course, comes for a price.

A too high price for the studios. Jodorowsky and his team had a finished and fleshed out idea that they brought from one studio to another. They had this amazing book that contained a scene for scene storyboard, the full script, several pages of concept art and all that on really high quality paper. A true treasure. And still, all of the studios said “thanks for the effort but no”. And it was either because the ideas in the script were to far out there and weird or they wouldn’t simply finance it because the visuals necessary for this movie demanded a really huge budget. No one wanted to risk it. And from my point of view, I couldn’t blame them. Jodo’s vision was weird, brutal and visually strange. Yet… fascinating on so many levels. So ultimately the project failed because no one wanted to finance it. Jodo admits that it was a very hard time for him. His heart was broken.

So the rights for Dune then went to Dino De Lautentis who then produced the David Lynch version of Dune. Jodorowsky’s first thought was very positive. If someone was able to create a similar movie, close to Jodo’s ideas, it was David Lynch. When the movie came out in 1984 Jodo refused to see it. I would have probably reacted the same. Later then he saw it. A funny reaction by Jodo in the documentary because he smiled and was happy because Lynch’s movie was a failure on almost every level. Not just to him but also in the box office, to the critics and fans. And again… it’s a human reaction and I would have probably reacted the same. I personally enjoy Lynch’s Dune and think it definitely has its place. It’s sturcture is completely nuts but it contains enough ideas and weird concepts to stay fresh and interesting.

At the end of this documentary you can come to only one single conclusion. And that would be that Jodorowsky’s Dune is probably the best thing that ‘could have’ happened. By that I mean the fact that this movie was never fully made. Keeping in mind that something like Star Wars most likely never would have happened if Jodorowsky’s Dune were made. And they cover that fact in the documentary. But it also made movies like Alien, Blade Runner and so many other scifi classics possible. I mean, Giger’s design of the Alien alone is a timeless thing, that will look creepy, strange and frightening even to people that aren’t even born yet. And the atmospheric dystopia feel and look of Blade Runner wouldn’t have been possible without Moebius. So we may have lost one crazy Scifi version of Dune but won so many more Scifi movies that contain the ideas of Jodorowsky’s Dune and kinda sorta immortalize his project in a very special way.

Check out this documentary if you’re either a Movie fan, Scifi fan or simply interested in Art. It’s be worth your while!

8.0/10

Jodorowsky’s Dune on IMDb

Edge of Tomorrow – Movie Review

Saturday, June 14th, 2014

movie reviewWell, the first thing that comes up is the movie ‘Groundhogs Day’ with Bill Murray from 1993. Even though it’s not fair to compare the two movies. They may share the same idea… but the movies itself couldn’t be more different. Still… this comparison comes up all the time.

Edge of Tomorrow (EoT) shares the same idea but it’s far from being a comedy. Instead it’s a Science Fiction war movie. In its depiction a very ‘reduced to the essence/basics’ movie. It’s not playing around and follows a straight line. It doesn’t sidetrack and keeps its main characters in focus and therefor comes across like a very very efficiently produced movie. And while all that sounds very bleak and uninteresting… it’s, on the contrary, exactly that efficient moviemaking what makes this movie work.

We follow Major William Cage (Tom Cruise), a military officer and sort of a public relations spokesman from the military for the media. He is the typical guy that tries to ‘sell’ the war to civilians to make them join the fight. In short… he’s the typical advertising guy that’s most likely an asshole. And he is an asshole. Cruise does a formidable job in selling that asshole image with his very unique smartassy charming smile. Now what ‘war’ is there? Well, it’s the typical “aliens (called Mimics) invaded Earth and Mankind wants to send them home again” scenario. Now Major Cage is invited to visit General Brigham (Brendan Gleeson) just to get the order that the next day, when the largest offensive ever is scheduled to reclaim Europe, Major Cage will also be there, on the front line, to do media coverage about how the attack is going on. This is a great scene between Cruise and Gleeson. Major Cage, even with his rank as an officer, never fought a single battle in his whole career. He immediately understands that this ‘frontline report’ mission will be very dangerous. Too dangerous for him. Cage is trying to find a way out of his misery and manages it to really seriously anger the General. So much that he’s losing his rank and gets demoted to the rank of Private. Then he finds himself waking up on the military rally grounds that previously was the Heathrow Airport in London. This place looks great and really delivers pictures that kind of look and feel like what you see in documentaries from the day before D-Day in WW2.

There we meet Master Sergeant Farell (Bill Paxton) who is giving Cage hell, brings him to his new platoon and has no mercy, telling him he’ll probably won’t survive the next day. Soon enough the forces are readying for the action and prepare themselves for the invasion. Cage has no clue about anything is pretty much a playball of the circumstances. The invasion is codenamed ‘Downfall’ and the battle itself is kind of an homage to ‘Operation Overlord’, the landing of the Allied forces on the beaches of France in 1944. Except this time the enemy is prepared and everything possible goes, against all predictions, horribly wrong and the enemy anticipated the attack. We see how Cage is stumbling through the battlefield, barely able to make sense of the situation. Soon enough his team is wiped out and the last chance to redeem himself is to blow himself up and take one of the aliens with him. Now that certain Mimic he took out was a special one. Cage suddenly wakes up the day before the invasion and has to live through it all again.

After a couple of repeats he understands what’s happening and understands that he can turn the tide in this war. He also understands that he can’t do it alone. So Cage is trying to make friends with Rita Vrataski (Emily Blunt). She’s the hero of a previous battle and known for her relentless will to kill the enemy. She’s kind of a symbol for hope. Cage of course tried to make his officers understand what is going on with him but naturally no one believes him when he tells them about that strange time-loop effect. But Rita does. We learn that the same thing happened to her in that famous battle at Verdun. Even though she lost her ‘reset’ ability both of them try to find a way to end this war.

So much for an intro to the storyline. Now there is some great acting in this movie. When Cage is entering the first day of the battle he is completely broken. Sweaty, shaking… completely useless. He is basically a joke to all his squad members. And they all do joke about him. Not the best motivation and you can see plain fear in the eyes of Cage. Well done job by Tom Cruise there. He eventually, after a couple of repeats/loops, learns how to handle the situation. Slowly but surely we get the Cruise we know from the Mission Impossible movies for example. It’s a nice transition. But still, Cage is making mistakes and the movie has some very original (and very often funny) ways to show and explain these. In an earlier loop he’s hit by a truck which comes out of nowhere and was just plain funny. You’re a robot if you’re not laughing at that scene. Bill Paxton also works great as Cage’s officer in the Heathrow camp. He’s giving him crap from left and right and seems to have a lot of fun playing that character. Emily Blunt is also very believable in her part as the heroine. Even if she’s very vulnerable, she still stays above all these other soldiers around her. She has a certain ‘grace’ on the battlefield. The way she moves and deals with the enemy just looks really good.

On a technical aspect there’s also not much to critique. The script is solid and even manages it to flesh out background characters enough that you kinda care for them too. Sometimes a little far fetched but still good and efficient in its pacing. The camera work is ok, but has a little too much shaky cam syndrome going on in the battle scenes. On a visual level the movie comes along really bleak. This may turn off some people but for me it added to the visual realism. Then there are the Exo-Suits. Now a lot of fans were not happy when they didn’t manage to make these for the 1998 Starship Troopers movie. Since in the novel the soldiers had such Exoskeleton Suits to fight the Bugs. I guess they had to strip that part due to budget limitations and VFX not being where techniques are nowadays. The aliens often reminded me of the drones in the Matrix movies. Which probably isn’t a fair comparison since the aliens here are organic. It’s mostly their movement style. When they get a closeup and don’t move too much, they actually look quite scary. I have to applaud the fact that (when you get a clean look at them) these creatures finally do look like aliens and not humanoid or like something that could be off Earth.

You can see a lot of influences from all kinds of Scifi literature and movies packed into EoT. From Starship Troopers to The Forever War. Some parts of the film even have a World War 1 flair. But that may be caused by the look they chose for the invasion scenes. In some twisted universe EoT could have even been a sequel to that World Invasion/Battle: LA movie. Thinking about it… it would have been perfect. Battle: LA had a really nice first 30 minutes but became a horrible movie very soon after that.

While watching a review of this movie on Thecinemasnob.com, it was noted that this is best videogame movie ever made. And while the movie is not based on a videogame it completely makes sense. The whole mechanic of the movie works like a videogame. Cage basically is the playable character and everytime the (let’s say just for fun) director makes a mistake… Cage has to start the level again! It’s a funny analysis and it could totally make sense! In ye olden days, with the jump’n’run games for example, you really needed some very good timing and planning on how you move through the levels. The same thing happens in the movie. That’s a funny detail worth to mention.

Only the ending felt a tiny bit too much by the book. But that’s merely a taste thing I’d say. Otherwise a very solid and good movie. I like Tom Cruise’s Scifi choices so far. I can’t remember a bad movie with him that’s set in the Scifi genre. It’s also good to see an original movie and not a remake, sequel or prequel making a lot of money and being successful these days.

7.9/10

Edge Of Tomorrow on IMDb

Godzilla (2014) – Movie Review

Thursday, May 22nd, 2014

movie reviewI had some high hopes for this one. What really made me curious about this new one were the casting choices and how the characters would work out. When it comes to the old Godzilla movies then I’m by far no expert. I know they’re around since the mid 1950s and saw tons of different iterations of the same story over and over again. The very first Godzilla movie from 1954 was kind of a Japanese comment on the discovery of nuclear energy and bomb testing and had some serious undertones. Later iterations of the so-called ‘Kaiju’ (which basically translates as ‘strange creature’) movies ended up very kid friendly and very goofy in the 60s. Then it got a little more serious again. Let’s just say that Godzilla itself has quite a history. And from my personal experience, watching this latest iteration, this ‘king of all monsters’ still worked great!

The first 15 minutes of the movie we have our all beloved Bryan Cranston trying to figure out some strange anomalies on some instrument readings from the nuclear power plant he’s working for. Something strange is going on and he has no idea what’s the source of the readings. Cranston plays Joe Brody. He and his wife Sandra (Juliette Binoche) and son Ford live in Japan, really close to the power plant, which is portrayed as this really massive complex you actually want to avoid going too close to. This one particular morning, the strange readings go off the chart and result in an earthquake. In an effort to secure the power plant Sandra dies, right in front of Joe’s eyes. A pretty heartbreaking moment. Cranston does a phenomenal job with showing the pain he’s going through in these moments. His decision to sacrifice his wife and colleagues helps to avoid a bigger catastrophe but Joe wants to know what exactly happend and caused the earthquake that forced him to kill his beloved wife. 15 years later we have Ford (Aaron Taylor-Johnson), who joined the military, coming home from his latest tour of duty. Just when he wanted to have some peace with his wife Elle (Elizabeth Olson) and kid, the telephone rings with a message that his father got arrested in Japan. Joe, now obsessed with finding out what happened 15 years ago gets released from prison after Ford bailed him out of there. Both have very different ideas on how to get on with life but Joe manages to get his son along to take a trip to the ruins of the power plant. Ford’s reason to help his father is mainly to put an end to all of it by showing his father that there was nothing special going on 15 years ago… that it was an accident. Slowly but surely both understand that there is indeed something going on and Joe now wins the trust he needs from his son. And that’s all I want to say here. Let’s just point out that things start to happen and things start to get spectacular.

If you take all the old Godzilla movies into account then you notice that all of them have a slow buildup. You will not get your big time monster fight in the first half hour (or even full hour). The fight is reserved for the third act in the end. Yes there are skirmish fights here and there… but the big one always in the end. And that’s something this new movie does perfect! It surely takes like 20 to 30 minutes before we can actually see a monster. And it’s a great first appearance and the first moments of ‘epic’.

What this movie does perfectly is to (for the most part) show the monsters from the perspective of a human. That gives these enormous creatures so much weight and results in some dreadful and believeable images. A lot of “holy crap, how would I try to get out of there?” moments. Especially when we’re with Ford when he’s trying to get home and later trying to do his job. There is one scene on Hawaii when Ford is on a train, trying to catch a plane for San Francisco, when one of the monsters appears in the city. At first all electricity is off and the whole city dark. Kind of the atmosphere you have when a thunderstorm is coming. Very quiet, before it goes off. Military jets and helicopters zipping around. We’re still with Ford in that train and you start to think that something off and weird is going on. Then lights come on again and suddenly this giant creature appears. There are a lot of these moments in this movie, where a short buildup is going on, that introduces the monster to the environment. It’s so well done and creates a very immersive mood.

As mentioned before I was curious because of the casting choices. Unfortunately the movie doesn’t go too deep into the characters and doesn’t allow a lot of character development. Only Bryan Cranston really managed to portrait a 3 dimensional character with was given to him. Aaron Johnson is a phenomenal actor who surely does a fine job here, but his character in the movie could be seen as a placeholder for every other generic monster movie hero. Still, he’s doing a good job, given the material he got. Then we have Elizabeth Olson who got herself some credit with some of her recent acting choices. She’s doing a nice job as well and gives her part at least a tad bit of depth. The true hero of this movie is Godzilla and the monsters. Which brings me to the VFX and monsters.

I really like this new take on Godzilla. I think it’s a natural progression from the original (man in a costume) design. Of course in this one the monsters are all CG. There are some really epic scenes in this movie. And no, I’m not explicitly talking about the big fight scenes. There are scenes that make the monsters almost appear human. They seem to have emotions and most importantly they have a motivation! It’s not a desaster-porn movie where all the destruction is just there for the sake of the most possible KABOOM! These creatures have a reason to fight. The CG work, from my point of view, is pretty much flawless. The detail and motivation of the monsters gives all the destruction much more weight. I can’t even imagine how much work went into the creation of the VFX scenes. It’s damn good work.

Talking about the qualities of the monsters and how they appear to have ‘character’ goes back to director Gareth Edwards’ first big movie ‘Monsters’. In ‘Monsters’ we have the question who the real monsters are. Maybe it’s us humans. The monsters in Edwards’ first movie did not really appear to be dangerous. They were just ‘there’ and we humans just don’t want them to be ‘there’ (as usual). Then there is this fascinating ending of Monsters where there are these two 20m or 30m high creatures that seem to make love and share emotions. The same qualities and undertones we have in this Godzilla movie. It seems to go a step further too. There are scenes with a subtle undertone of mutual understanding between humans and the monsters. It is fascinating and very well executed. Gareth Edwards was the perfect guy for this movie. He seems to understand the subtle details that need to go into movies like this. Action isn’t everything! It needs a little more.

Did I mention the sound design? The sound landscape in this movie is very deep! There is a scene on a train bridge in a forest that doesn’t play any dramatic music at all. It’s just the sound and noises from the monster. The movie definitely understood when to cut the music and leave space for sound effects. I already got that impression from the trailers and was so happy that it translated into the movie. The musical score in the film works well but for me the clear heroes are the sound design folks. Especially in theater! When Godzilla roars it almost felt like the seats were shaking. And there is this one scene where he roars and… keeps on roaring for longer then you would normally think for a scene like that. And it totally paid off! It gave Godzilla character and a certain kind of ‘force of nature’ feel. Almost as if he wanted to say “The wait is over! I’m here now and I’ll kick some ass!”. It worked great!

The movie got positive reviews with some sprinkles of negative. While I’m open to every opinion, I don’t understand some of the complaints from the negative reviews though. One thing you have to understand is that we’re not talking about ‘Pacific Rim’ here. Pacific Rim is a fun movie in itself and while it’s about big monsters too, it’s also a pure popcorn movie to have fun with. For the most part it’s monster bashing without investing time into developing the monsters. They’re just there to get beaten and killed in the most cool way possible. In Godzilla you don’t get the eyecandy until the story demands it and explained it. In some way you have to earn yourself the eyecandy (how it’s suposed to be goddamnit!) and enjoy it even more when it happens. I’m really glad we still have this big blockbuster movie that manages to follow a buildup and not throw all the good stuff out within the first 15 minutes of the film! It gives me hope that there still are talented people out there who understand how a good movie should be structured!

Even some of the positive reviews said that it could have had more fighting between the monsters and I say NO… it was just the right amount of fighting and destruction. If you want senseless eyecandy and destruction go watch Man Of Steel or Transformers.

Alright, I think I got it all out. I really damn enjoyed this movie. Go watch it. For this one I would even suggest a 3d screening.

8/10

Godzilla on IMDb

The Conjuring – Movie Review

Tuesday, May 13th, 2014

movie reviewFrom reviews I knew that ‘The Conjuring’ was a step back from all these ‘found footage’ movies and torture porns (Saw, Hostel) we got over the last couple of years. Yes, we are talking about a horror film. And for me all the Paranormal Activities, Hostels and Saws are not exactly horror films. They are a mixture of all kinds of things without too many classical elements. The Conjuring is a welcome step back to a more traditional setup.

The movie does have a very usual storyline but it’s nothing to complain about, since it’s mainly the seriousness of the characters that make this movie work. It’s about a family that tries to find a new start in life and decides to move into a house. Of course this house has a strange and violent past. Soon after moving into the house they experience some weird events. The only way to resolve the situation is to seek help from professionals. And they find help in a couple that is specialized in exorcism and dealing with supernatural things. After taking a look at the house again everyone agrees that something needs to be done. The house, almost a character of its own, doesn’t like that and starts to ramp up the attacks.

The movie is loosely based on true events. Which is hard to believe. We all know how Hollywood works. Nonethelese I really enjoyed this movie a lot. While watching I recognized elements from classics like The Exorcist or Poltergeist. And I guess it’s those classic elements that made The Conjuring the box office and critical success it was. It’s back to the roots and not the ‘in your face’ thing we get most of the time today. The horror element isn’t gore or jump scares… the movie is more about what you can not see instead of the “BAM! here it is”. There are a couple of scenes where they really nicely mess with your head. Some great “is there something in the corner or isn’t?!” moments.

The casting is very good too. Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson play the couple that tries to clean the house. Both of them create a very dense atmosphere and mood with how serious they portrait their characters. Lili Taylor and Ron Livingston play the house owners and do a great job as well. I really enjoyed how both of them had no idea how to react to what’s going on in the house. Ever since Band Of Brothers and Office Space I have a soft spot for Ron Livingston and I’m glad he got the part in this movie. He’s a very versatile actor and got a chance to show it here. All around solid acting from all of them. The kid actors as well. No complaints there too.

If you’re interested in a modern horror film that works on the foundations of classics like The Exorcist and Poltergeist… this will be your thing! Check it out. A fantastic movie!

7.8/10

The Conjuring on IMDb

300: Rise Of An Empire – Movie Review

Saturday, March 15th, 2014

movie reviewFirst of all I have to state that I went into this film without any expectations whatsoever. Except maybe the fact that I really wanted the style of the first 300 movie. I was certain that this new movie would not completely be able to hold up with the first one. That rarely happened in movie history. So how much of the first 300 movie was in this new one?

This movie basically tells the same story we already had in 300. This time though we are following the Greeks and not specifically the Spartans. It’s basically that: some really sexy guys have to hold a certain area from a really sexy lady who is leading a part of the Persian invasion. While the first movie is very condensed on Leonidas, his 300 and the area around the Hot Gates, we now get a look at the bigger picture and everything that’s going on around the happenings in the first movie. The movie is at least trying to give a bigger picture. That would make it more a ‘side-quel’ instead of a ‘sequel’.

Here we are following Themistokles (Sullivan Stapleton), a Greek army leader, who is pretty much the main guy in the movie. He is also the guy who may be the reason why all this war is raging, because he killed the father of Xerxes in a battle earlier in history. Which then started a chain of events that made Xerxes (Rodrigo Santoro) the crazy ‘God-King’ of Persia we all know from the first movie. Then we have Artemisia (Eva Green). She’s our lead villain in this movie and is originally from Greece. She had a very troubled and disturbing past, which lead her to Persia, when she was saved bysomeone we know from the first movie and this now famous “THIS IS SPARTA” scene. He decides to adopt her, train and teach her to fight and be a relentless leader. When Xerxes decides to conquer the world, Artemisia leads a significant part of his army to Greece. In the first 300 movie we have a couple of scenes that give a glimpse of how sea battles would look like. In this new movie we basically get one big sea battle. The opposing forces give each other hell until the final battle between Themistokles and Artemisia.

The battle scenes are what elevates this movie a tiny bit above the ‘average’ mark… and Eva Green. She must have really enjoyed playing that over the top, badass, crazy villain character of Artemisia. At one point she even opposes Xerxes and says open to his face what she’s thinking about him. She is also the character with the most depth in the movie. We get quite some backstory to her. And that story completely justifies how she became what she is in the movie. And Eva Green does that in a fantastic way. If (beside the battle scenes) anything saves the movie, then it’s her performance. She’s great in this one.

On the opposite of Eva Green we have Sullivan Stapleton as Themistokles. He falls a little flat and by far doesn’t have the charisma of a Gerard Butler who played Leonidas. There are a couple of heroic speech scenes that just don’t really hit the spark and worked for me. But hey, Leonidas had a red cape, Themistokles has a blue one… so the leader in the next movie is destined to have a green cape! He and Eva Green though had some great chemistry when they both shared the screen. They played well off another (and I don’t reduce that to a really nice sex scene between the two). They had some good lines to fire at each other.

What I found positive was the really hard violence in this movie. They completely follow the path of the first movie and even upped the loss of tons of blood in this one. It’s even too much blood for my taste. Sometimes you’re thinking how no one in these battle scenes even slightly slips on all the liters of blood that should be spilled on the ground they fight on. It’s a little ridiculous. It can be said though that it served the 3d very good. All this slow motion blood flying around was kinda fun to watch.

Between the first 300 movie and today there were quite a lot of movies that tried to copy the look and visual style. I had a feeling that this movie would be a weak copy as well. But no! They managed to get exactly the visual feel and look from the first 300 movie. That’s of course the main reason to watch this movie. Since a lot of the movie’s battles happen on open sea, it’s also a different battlefield and allows for more creative visuals and fights. Even though the 3d worked really nice, there was one detail that kinda bugged me in certain scenes. A lot of flying particles! May it be dust or whatever. The 3d effect was great but it distracted a lot from the actual focus point of the scenes. These particles were mostly used in quiet scenes and I ask myself why. Did they think these scenes were too dull and they needed something to keep the eye busy? I don’t know. Otherwise… no big problems with the 3d.

Forget historic details when you go into this movie. From what I know it’s all over the place with it’s facts and everything. Who cares?! I, for my part, got exactly what I wanted from this movie. And that wasn’t much, except a bloody visual feast for the eye.

7.3/10

300 – Rise Of An Empire on IMDb

The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty – Movie Review

Friday, January 17th, 2014

movie reviewI recently watched ‘Greenberg’ from 2010. Another one of these Ben Stiller movies that doesn’t fall into his more known/popular comedy realm. It’s not what I expected but it wasn’t bad either. It was a solid character study with some solid acting by Mr. Stiller. Why I’m pointing that out? Well, simple… I just want more of the serious Ben Stiller. He’s someone who can really pull it off. He’s probably one of the better versatile actors we have today. So when I saw the trailers for ‘Mitty’ I was all for it. It looked great. Promised a story with heart. Promised some good acting. And it’s directed by Ben Stiller himself. The question was not if I’ll see this movie… the question was if I’ll see it on the big screen or wait for Bluray. I’m glad I did go for the big screen and went to the theater.

Ben Stiller plays Walter Mitty. He works at LIFE magazine, which is just making the transition from print magazine to online magazine. Naturally a lot of lose their jobs when this happens so they plan to make their last print issue a masterpiece. What does a good magazine need? A good cover of course. Due to his job Walter plays a big part in getting that cover done. For 16 years his job is taking care of the photo negative archive (you remember? analog photography?), when a new set of photos by very prominent photographer Sean O’Connell (Sean Penn) arrives. The message that comes along with it says that negative 25 is the one that should be taken for the last issue’s cover. But that particular negative is missing. In the meanwhile we learn that Walter didn’t really have a very exciting life. Never experienced things that we would normally say represent ‘living life!’. Walter has a crush on a woman who just started working for LIFE magazine and eversince he saw her he wanted to ask her out. Of course he’s a very shy guy and fails to make the right steps. When he is starting to get in trouble, because of the missing photo negative, things fall in place and he gets a chance to talk to Cheryl (Kristen Wiig). She offers him help asking around in the office if someone noticed anything. Walter is developing the negatives he does have and both try to read the pictures and try to find out where these might have been shot to track down Sean O’Connell. A photographer not known to be easily contacted due to constantly being on the road and working with analog equipment to completely focus on the job. Walter and Cheryl manage to get a clue from one of the photos. Walter decides to find Sean since Walter really needs negative 25. The hope is that Sean can either give him the negative or at least let him know where it is.

Beside the happenings evolving around Walter we have this background plot about a huge magazine that makes this weird transition from print to digital. Along with it all the bad things for the workers there. Throughout the movie we also have a message of old versus new. The movie is not trying to hammer down an opinion on the viewer but it’s kind of trying to explain how the old stuff can still be good. First of all the whole thing about photo negatives. Only true hardcore photographers are still working with film. I know a few of them and I can totally relate to their reason why they are still on film. It’s a very special look and feel that digital will never ever have. We get told that some things need time and patience to get good results. In our digitized environment nowadays you can get so many things so fast that we sometimes need a reminder… to sit back and enjoy the ‘moment’ for once. Then there is the magazine undergoing the transition from print to digital. Which might be a necessary step for the magazine to survive, but still leaves so many hard working people behind, losing their jobs. I liked this background theme. But thinking about it… it could also be the main theme of the film. That’s up for debate though. I guess everyone can find an own main theme in this movie, depending on what story element you can relate to.

This movie is a journey. It goes a lot of places and if you allow/let the movie take you by the hand you will have quite a fun ride with it. There I am really happy I decided to go see it in the theater. There are some really awesome nature/landscape shots, along with some spectacular lighting, in this movie. Yes, the movie has a some back and forth scenery jumps but I had no problem with it at all. Even though I must admit that it did hurt the storytelling a little bit. On the other hand I don’t have a suggestion on how to make it better. It all works just fine. The movie isn’t all serious as well. There are a lot of funny moments in it. But not stupid funny like in so many Ben Stiller comedy movies. Here we have a lot of heart in them and they serve a purpose. It’s not just funny just to be funny.

The film didn’t receive very good reviews and splits most opinions 50/50. There are the folks who really enjoyed it, are able to relate to the characters and what the movie wants to say. People who don’t like it for the most part seem to have a problem with how the movie tries to get its message accross. They argue that the movie beats the audience over the head with a message hammer by placing all these obvious hints at what it’s all about. And yes there are these obvious moments and I totally recognized them. But I never thought it was just done to make sure the audience really gets what the is movie about. The movie wants to be a message so why should it hide its intentions?

Is it a movie I’ll rewatch any time soon? Probably not. But still, I think it’s a film that you should see at least once. It got something to say and some really beautiful moments.

So YES! Go see it. Support this wonderful movie.

8/10

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty on IMDb

The Hobbit – TDOS – Movie Review

Friday, December 20th, 2013

movie reviewI didn’t know what to expect when I went to see the first part almost exactly one year ago. I guess I was hoping for that Middle-Earth flair that the first trilogy had. When the movie ended I was pretty underwhelmed by what I saw. It surely was Middle-Earth… but not the way I hoped it to be. I blame the HFR (48 frames per second) projection technique Peter Jackson forces on these movies. It really gave me a headache. The 3d was fine though. In hindsight the first movie also had its lenghts and didn’t feel very consistent as a whole. For me it was a weak start for a trilogy and my hopes for the movies to come weren’t high from that point on.

Due to my lowered expectations I did not go to see the second film with any high hopes. My sole reason to see it was basically to give Peter Jackson a second chance. And judging from what I saw in the second movie, he mostly managed to get back on track. There were still parts that feld weird and a little out of place.

The second movie basically starts where the first one ended. Our group of Dwarfs, a Hobbit and Gandalf is continueing the journey towards the mountain. Wherein the former capital of the Dwarfs lies, which is now occupied by the dragon Smaug. The group is still hunted by some Orcs who relentlessly try to catch them. Gandalf has to leave the group to check on some facts and other things that trouble his mind. In more than one scene we get the impression that he knows what evil is plotting and brooding in the darker corners of Middle-Earth. And there we have a similarity to ‘The Two Towers’. There he’s leaving the group as well. In this movie there are a couple of things/similarities happening that reminded me on the first trilogy.

The first bigger setpiece is an enchanted forest where the group gets lost in. This sequence was a lot of fun and for once the HFR and 3d combination managed to play out its strength. The forest is populated by effing huge spiders that, of course, try to get our heroes to eat them. Bilbo is using the Ring to disguise himself and take out the spiders one after another. The Ring also enables him to hear the spiders speak. Which I found a nice touch to it all. I didn’t expect the Ring to have that power. A nice surprise. The scene itself is just amazingly well shot and the crystal clear VFX along with the ugly disgusting giant spiders just looked great. That was the Peter Jackson I want! Of course our heroes manage to get out of the forest alive… rescued by Elves.

Legolas shows up and with him a group of Elven soldiers who drive the remaining spiders away. There we also get the first appearance by Tauriel. Since Elves and Dwarfs aren’t exactly friends, our group isn’t exactly rescued. ‘Captured’ may be the better word. Only Bilbo manages to stay hidden with help of the Ring. Returned to the Elven city our heroes are thrown into prison. Which they managed to escape with help of Bilbo. Now one of the Dwarfs is fond of Tauriel and the two come a little closer. Then we learn that Legolas has a thing for Tauriel as well. Unfortunately the father of Legolas, ruler of the Elven city, doesn’t want him to start anything with Tauriel. I presume her blood isn’t majestic enough or something. Legolas doesn’t care. He likes her and in some scenes we can see his inner conflict in his eyes. So yes, ultimately there is a love triangle going on. Is it necessary? I don’t know. For some reason it’s a nice new perspective I think.

After a, sometimes really very much over the top, escape scene our group is free and mobile again. On their way to the mountain they have to cross a huge lake and meet Bard, a guy with a ship big enough ship. Together they land in the wonderful town of Esgaroth. As filthy and dirty as this town looks in the movie… the detail and the whole look of it is just great work. The lighting they used for it, with its blue and orange color palette, looked just great. Dwarfs aren’t exactly welcome in this city as well and hide in the home of Bard. In the meanwhile the Orcs are still following them and so do Legolas and Tauriel.

After some action in Esgaroth, part of the group leaves to go for the mountain. One of the Dwarfs got hit by an poisoned Orc arrow and has to stay behind. Tauriel arrives just in time to do some magic and save him. Of course it’s Dwarf that bonded with her earlier. A few miles away our group finally enters the mountain, after a failed attempt to open the door. That was a weird moment in the scene. The Dwarfs go through all this crazy stuff and when their one attempt to open the magic door fails they just go “F it… we tried and failed, too bad. I’m going now”. Only Bilbo solves the riddle and the journey continues. Now it’s Bilbo’s big moment. The reason why he came along. He has to go into the mountain and find a certain magic stone. Too bad there’s a dragon too.

Much like the first Hobbit movie this one felt like a rollercoaster ride. Story part, action part, story part, action part and so on. For some reason it felt much more consistent though. I don’t know if it was because I knew what to expect, but the HFR didn’t hurt as bad as it did in the first movie. Even though there were plenty of hectic scenes. What I noticed though was that within these fast scenes we had less rapid fire cuts. It all felt more fluidly executed which benefited the HFR. The 3d for the most part was done very well. Especially the earlier mentioned spider scene. And most importantly when Smaug enters the movie. That’s how to use 3d!

Now does it mean I’m getting old when I say that I enjoyed the quiet moments best? The actions setpieces and their execution was well done but the quiet story parts were the ones that brought back a little flair of Middle-Earth. Especially the part when Bilbo is playing hide and seek with Smaug. There you can see where the money went. That dragon looks absolutely fantastic.

When it comes to characters then I must admit that I don’t like Thorin Oakenshield (Richard Armitage) and somehow really like Tauriel (Evangeline Lilly). Bilbo (Martin Freeman) does a hell of a job saving Thorin’s and his gang’s ass from spiders, Elves and Orcs… and Thorin is still not fond of him. Even after Bilbo entered the mountain Thorin doesn’t have a single bit of confidence into Bilbo. Sorry… Thorin is an A’hole! Now the other Dwarfs get a bit more screentime in this movie and are more likable. Especially Kili (Aidan Turner) who’s kind of falling for Tauriel. Which, I’m sorry to say that, is kind of cute. Tauriel has some nice screentime as well and delivers. While all the other Elves, including Legolas, have their reservations against Drwafs… she has an open mind and looks at things her own way. She has her quiet moments where some good acting is going on. And the action moments show some bad ass fighting. She’s cute and pretty damn lethal to her enemies. Gandalf (Ian McKellen) follows his own plot in this movie after parting from the group early on. Well, what’s to say about Gandalf… it’s Gandalf, you know? We also have a guest appearance from Radagast (Sylvester McCoy) again. I like him show up for a couple of scenes. He has a nice grumpy feel and look to him… as well as birds nesting under his hat. The acting overall was solid but closing in on cheesy.It maintained its level right beneath it. But that’s maybe a taste thing.

Overall I have a feeling that people who liked the first Hobbit movie don’t like the second and vice versa. And also please don’t get me wrong. I still don’t like the HFR technique. While it may have worked 15-20% of the time in the first film… it probably worked 30-40% of the time in this second one. Which is still by far not enough to justify the use of it. There were still plenty of scenes that looked so goofy and fake that it completely took my out of the movie experience.

This movie is as epic as a fantasy movie can get. It got its flaws, and most of them are very visible in the HFR version, but overall it felt like Middle-Earth again. Even though they could have easily trimmed out 20 minutes of this cut. There is some padding here and there.

Go see it in 3d! HFR is not necessary.

A 7.9/10 for me. (HFR & 3D Version)

The Hobbit – The Desolation Of Smaug on IMDb